Valentine’s Day

I’ve never really been a big fan of Valentine’s Day. Even after getting married I never got over the annoying bimbos in high school flaunting their stupid balloons and flowers. To me it’s just an occasion for those in love to flaunt their feelings and I never really felt like that was appropriate. You have 364 other days to enjoy being in love. Why do you need a special holiday? Anyways, needless to say we did not really celebrate. I was actually thinking about buying some 50% off candy tomorrow and celebrating on the 15th, but what we DID do was make some adorable heart sugar cookies! Grandma Betty gave me heart shaped cookie cutters for my bridal shower and I had been waiting for Valentine’s Day to break them in. The recipe is one I got from my Mom. I’m not sure where she got it but it’s pretty basic and it reminds me of helping my Mom make sugar cookies as a little girl.

Rolled Sugar Cookies

1/2 cup margarine/butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 Tbs milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking powder

Flour to roll (about 3 cups)

Let the butter or margarine stand in the mixing bowl in a warm until soft (or zap in the microwave for a few seconds like I did.) Add sugar, egg, milk, vanilla and mix thoroughly. Sift in the baking powder with the flour (I used 2 cups of flour and the third cup for rolling out the dough.) Roll thin on waxed paper or a heavily floured surface. Make sure the rolling pin in well floured too. Bake at 425 for 5 minutes. The trick to making deliciously soft and gooey cookies is to trust the time on the recipe! They continue to cook when you take them out of the oven and they tend to harden a little bit once they cool. 5 minutes isn’t a lot of time and they looked undercooked when they came out but they were perfect after they cooled. The other trick is to make sure the cookies are the same thickness. I think this is the hardest part when making rolled cookies. I like mine about a 1/4 inch think so they’re really soft but we also made some about 1/8 of an inch thick and they crispier but still delicious.

For the icing I just used the recipe on the side of the confectionary sugar box for buttercream frosting. I halved it since I only had about 1 and a 1/2 cups and it turned out to be the perfect amount.

Happy Baking!

-Erin

Leave a Reply

