Our Garden

Well, folks, the time has come. My dear friend and blog co-founder has left us. She has ventured on to another blog endeavor and will no longer be posting to poor Dancing with Disregard. Have no worries. I’m planning on making some changes to the format over the next few days and I’ll hopefully start posting more frequently. Exciting things are happening around the Nimitz household. My quilt is almost finished, Steve’s record cabinet is underway and our garden is proving to be quite fruitful! I’ve never been this excited about vegetables in my life! The tomato plants are taunting me with their soon-to-be-ripe tomatoes.

Green Tomatoes

Even the “reject” tomato plants that wouldn’t fit in our 6′ X 2′ garden are flourishing.

The "reject" garden

The flowers are looking beautiful too!

Gerbera Daisies

 

Blurry Zinnia

As you can tell, my camera is really good at taking close-up shots. Oh well….I waited AGES for these things to pop up and they finally did. They’re so beautiful! I’m so proud. :)

The 6'X2' Garden

One of these days Steve and I are going to have a real garden, with more than two type of vegetables….

Herb Garden

Even the compost bin got a make over! Well, this was mainly do to the neighborhood skunk using it as an all-you-can-eat buffet. Hopefully, this will make it a little more challenging and he’ll take the hint.

New Compost Bin

After spending two years cooped up in a tiny, second floor, balcony-less apartment in the city day dreaming about the day I’ll be able to run out to the garden to pick some basil for dinner or to make flower arrangements with flowers I grew or to make salsa with tomatoes from my garden I’m so happy to finally see this dream come true! We’ve spent the past four months watching these plants miraculously grow from seed to seedlings to plant. The entire process is so exciting to watch and the effort on our part is much less than I ever anticipated (see:reject garden). If it weren’t for the mosquitoes and humidity, summer would be my favorite season. Hopefully next time I’ll be posting about having excessive amounts of tomatoes.

Until Then,

Erin

P.S. Tesla’s new blog is http://www.inventmyuniverse.blogspot.com/. I’ll put a link to it on the side of my blog as soon as I figure out how to do that.

2 thoughts on “Our Garden

  1. Tesla

    The blog looks great! I do LOVE that quilt you used as the header. I went to your About section and rediscover that picture of us. I think I need to print that and frame it. Enjoy that Blacksburg summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

