I Finished my Quilt!

I seriously can’t believe this moment has arrived. After two years and two months, countless hours of Real Housewives of  Bravo, at least 3 spools of thread, many yards of fabric, and more money and time spent than I’ll ever calculate or admit, I have finally finished my first quilt!

It's Done!

I don’t even know what sparked the idea, I just decided one day about 3 years ago that I wanted to hand sew a patchwork quilt. After some practice I decided I was really willing to start such an ambitious project. I learned how to pick fabrics and which fabrics look best together. I learned that it’s much better and significantly faster to use a sewing machine while piecing (which I thankfully got for Christmas about halfway through piecing the top.) I learned (with a lot of help from my Mom) how to baste the quilt. And finally, how to sew and bind it. I’m so happy that I was able to take this far-fetched idea and turn it into a tangible object. That’s what I love about creating. The process is so exciting!

This is the very beginning. The photo was taken in May of 2009.

The Begining

Now I have time to tackle a few other quilt ideas! I’m already incredibly excited for my Harry Potter quilt and I’ve got big plans for my next big quilt!

Cheers!

One thought on “I Finished my Quilt!

Leave a Reply

