Drinking Girl with a Quilting Problem

In light of finally finishing my enormous quilt I decided to take a trip over to School House Fabrics in Floyd county this weekend.

School House Fabrics

It reminded me of something I would be bored to tears following my mom around in Occoquan, VA. Weird. Anyways, each room has a specialty- one room has nothing but buttons, trims and sewing supplies, another room has curtains and upholstery, another room has seasonal fabrics, etc. It was awesome! I spent about 2-3 hours browsing the entire store. My favorite part were all the bored husbands pacing by the entrance. Good thing Steve stayed home.

I ended up buying some floral fabrics for my next quilt.

New Fabrics

I’m planning on copying the pattern for the quilt on my banner. I love the star pattern and I love the colorful- yet-soft country-heirloom look to it. I actually already started working on the diamonds last night.

The beginning of the next two years...

This is going to be a huge challenge. Diamonds are lot trickier to measure cut and sew than squares. Plus I have no patience so I haven’t read any directions. I’m just jumping right in. Who reads directions?! Pssshhh

 

On a side note. THE TOMATOES ARE IN!!! Wooooohooooo! I’ve been waiting eagerly for this moment since March.

Yom yom yom

I grew those! Can you believe it?! And they along with all their brothers and sisters will be processed and turned into delicious salsa this weekend to give to friends and enjoy for the rest of the year.  I’m so excited. Nothing tastes better than homemade salsa.

Our friend, Mike planted some hops this year, which then proceeded to grow like weeds and took over his yard. He brought us over a couple.

Hoppy hops

Steve and I bought some beer making ingredients yesterday. Steve’s going to attempt a “pale ale, Sierra Nevada type deal.” Even though I swore I would never drink again after this weekend, I’m excited about a new batch of home brews. It’s been about 10 months since he’s made a batch, since his last attempt resulted in a batch of non-alcoholic overly-carbonated not-good-tasting apple beer. They’re still sitting in our mud room and every once in a while one will explode. Anyways, Steve’s made more delicious beers than not so I’m pretty excited. AND we’re also planning on hosting a end of the summer fondue party this weekend. Our kitchen is going to see more action this weekend than it has all summer.

All-in-all, I’ve found my first year of gardening to be highly successful and ridiculously easy. I mean, I hate the outdoors, I hate manual labor, and I hate dirt and bugs and getting dirty and yet I managed to have a garden (and a compost). You really just need to stick them in some dirt, throw them in the sun and water them every so often and they do all the work. Easy Peesy. I can’t wait until we actually have a real garden.

One thought on “Drinking Girl with a Quilting Problem

  1. Tess

    It’s all so exciting! I wish I was there to help eat some of those amazing looking tomatoes and partake in fondue!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

