Holy Tomatoes!

It feels like just a few short weeks ago that I was staring hungrily and longingly at the few small stubbornly green soon-to-be deliciously plump red juicy tomatoes, willing them to ripen. Now we have so many we don’t know what to do with them all. This is one week’s worth of tomatoes.

one weeks worth

 

I’ve made two batches of canning salsa.

Salsa!

I might end up having to make another batch. I’m terrified we’ll run out in early Spring again and we’ll have to wait 4 more months to make more. Steve and I are totally spoiled by this recipe. It originated from our friend Abow’s mom who gave the recipe to Abow and Tess who made a batch themselves from the overflow of tomatoes in their garden and then gave Steve and I a jar. We ate the whole thing in one sitting. All other brands of salsa fade in comparison. We’ve had store-bought salsa sit uneaten for months in our fridge because we’re too spoiled from the homemade kind. Once we inhaled that first jar of salsa I had to get my hands on the recipe and make my own batch. From that first batch I learned it’s much easier to make and significantly less expensive when you have your own tomatoes growing in your back yard and when you have a ladle and tongs. It’s really hard to fetch boiling hot jars out of boiling hot water without tongs. This year I treated myself to a canning kit from Kroger which made it so much easier and faster and much less dangerous.

I thought I’d share the precious recipe. It’s a little peppery so if you don’t like pepper you can reduce the amounts to your liking. You can also taste test it as you go. I’ve also substituted the cans of chopped green chili for jalapenos which turned out really great.

Canning Salsa
1 gallon tomatoes peeled and chopped
1 Tbsp black pepper
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp garlic salt
1 Tbsp cayenne pepper
7 cups diced onions
1 1/2 cups vinegar
3 Tbsp salt
1 Tbsp crushed red pepper
2 4oz. cans chopped green chili
2 bell peppers diced
 
Simmer for 15 minutes.
 

That’s it! Then all you have to do it throw it into sterilized jars and it’s all set. The thing I love about this recipe is that its salty, sweet, spicy, and a little bitter from the vinegar. It’s got it all covered.

Blanching

 

Dicing

The most time consuming part is the blanching and dicing of the tomatoes. It always takes longer than I think it will. Or want it to. But it’s totally worth it!

Now we have to figure out what else to do with all these tomatoes. We’ve eaten tons of bruschetta and put them in salads and on sandwiches. We might try to make our own pasta sauce. Until then, I’m gonna go eat some salsa.

 

 

One thought on “Holy Tomatoes!

  1. Tess

    Yummmmm! I can’t wait to grow my own tomatoes again. You should definitely consider canning just the tomatoes too if you have extra. I loved using them to make sauce for homemade pizzas but I will warn you it spoils you for store bought pizza sauce just like the salsa as everything fresh and homemade does.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

