MOOGFEST

This weekend we attended Moogfest in Asheville, NC and in an attempt to cure my post-music festival depression, I’ve decided to relive the event and prolong the excitement by blogging about it.  We saw Mathew Dear, Holy F*ck, Moby, TV on the Radio, Dan Deacon, Crystal Castles, The Flaming Lips, St. Vincent, Battles, Beats Antique, M83, James Murphy and Pat Mahoney, and Ghostland Observatory.

Holy F*ck

Moby- front row!

Moby killed it! Who knew?!? I’m so glad we got to see him, especially from the front row. The people in the front are the photographers who were there for the first 2 songs.I have a great video of him playing “We are all made of Stars” but apparently have to pay $50 to upload videos on my blog so I’ll stick with a picture.

TV on the Radio

TV on the Radio was the band I was most excited to see. They were incredible. I don’t even know how to describe the euphoria I felt when they covered “Waiting Room” by Fugazi. I’ve never screamed and danced and jumped and annoyed more people in my life. I still can’t believe one of my favorite bands covered one of my favorite songs. And I witnessed it from the middle of the front row!! I’ve never felt like such a hardcore indie music snob before and I know most people have no idea how good that felt but that’s okay, that was my moment and I’ll have that memory forever.

Dan Deacon

Umm apparently everyone moshes during Dan Deacon?!? I didn’t realize electronic dance pop music made people want to mosh. Still fun though.

We look Good

Crystal Castles

Alice Glass is probably the only person in the world who can take a swig of Jack Daniels, spit it all over the audience, and have people love it. She’s so much cooler than I’ll ever be…

Sketchy tailgating with a dalmation and surrogate

Sabotage and Lindsey Bleuth

Sketchy

I took pictures of Ghostland Observatory but the singer runs around too much so they didn’t turn out very well.

So I guess this means Moogfest is officially over. I guess it’s time to shower, unpack my bags, check my e-mail, sleep, drink some water, and return to the real world. Ahhh…what an amazing weekend.

Leave a Reply

