So I went to Ireland…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Despite a few initial hiccups (involving me realizing my passport was in my maiden name but ticket was in my married name and my marriage certificate was safely tucked away in the bottom of a closet in my home 4 hours away!!! And forgetting my iphone at my parents house the moment I was dropped off at the airport) the trip went well. The weather was a little drab. Unseasonably warm and rainy. But I finally, after many many years of dreaming got to see the “motherland.” I use “quotations” because I’m supposedly only partially Irish but since my favorite color is green, favorite hobby is drinking beer telling stories and laughing hysterically, favorite accent is Irish, name literally means Ireland, and have seen Riverdance about 100 times and twice in person, I consider it my motherland. The entire trip as they say was Good Craic! We were lucky enough to not only experience the city and all it’s glorious pubs but also spend 2 nights in a beautiful bed and breakfast in the country free of charge! Our gracious hosts were friends of my best friend and travel buddy, Caitlin. We were both astonished and completely taken aback my the warmth and generosity of the Walsh’s and the Irish in general. I’m already looking forward to my return. The next time, however, I vow to go in the Spring and stay for much longer. Until then, I need to update my passport. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

