Blacksburg finally saw some snow!

Image

 It actually snowed about 6 inches yesterday! Of course everything is melting now and I’m too sick to go play in it but it makes me happy to look out the window and see a fresh blanket of snow and gives me hope that our snowboarding trip next weekend won’t be filled with ice pebbles, rocks and twigs.

I’ve been bogged down lately trying to make my New Years Resolutions come true. I gave myself two very time-consuming and ambitious goals this year:

1. Run a half marathon

2. Read 40 books

This on top of a full time job, and maintaining my wifely duties (i.e. making huge messes in the kitchen, leaving laundry in the dryer for a week, assisting my husband in playing online board games, spending hours on food gawker and pinterest thinking I’m being creative by bookmarking recipes I’ll never actually make, watching clips of Real Housewives of BH/ Orange County/NJ on hulu, searching for the perfect house and then planning how to decorate it, accompanying Steve on various beer-filled outings with friends….exhausting work!) I don’t have much time left for crafting but I do manage to squeeze in a bit on the weekends. I’ve actually managed to make a blazing star block and have gotten pretty excited about continuing the vision I had over the summer. As a self-taught crafter/quilter, it’s very interesting the obvious things you learn along the way. For example, for my first patchwork quilt, I traced a square pattern for every square and cut a half an inch trim around each one. I don’t even want to think about the amount of time and back pain I could have saved if I just used some rulers and got a bigger mat board. I’m learning the importance of measuring twice (or 3 or 4 times) and cutting once. At first I thought diamonds were impossible until I watched a tutorial on you tube and realized I had to measure more carefully. Duh! Anyways here is the start of my next quilt:

 

Image

I also learned a valuable lesson while working on this block. Don’t drink and quilt! I only had one glass of wine when I decided to finish one of the corners. After many attempts and only managing to create even more caddywompus corners I decided the risks of the razor sharp rotary cutter, the scolding hot iron and the needle that can pierce through several thick layers of fabric was a little too dangerous for me a my slightly impaired motor skills. Image

I’ve also learned the importance of ironing. When I finished my “Valentine’s Day” block, there was a pit of puckering in the center until I busted out the iron and pressed that pucker flat! It’s amazing what some steam and some heat can do! I’ve gotten a little better with each block. I finished the yellow one yesterday and it was almost perfect.

ImageImage

I often find myself wondering why I enjoy quilting so much. I guess I enjoy playing with colors and fabrics and guessing what something will look like and seeing it come to life. I like measuring and geometry and watching the pieces fit together perfectly. At the end of a long stressful day I like to make some hot tea, put on some music blast the hear and disappear in my craft room. The other day I couldn’t help but wonder if there were any other 20-somethings out there working on their pastel star burst quilt while listening to Deadmau5 and Skrillex. Anybody? Oh well. To each his own!

I’ve also completed two more Harry Potter squares:

Image

 

Image

I’m starting to think I feel the same way about winter (i.e. snow) that some feel about summer and now that there’s a thick blanket of white snow over everything my heart feels a little lighter and I’m a little more chipper so I’m going to bundle up in my snow gear and head out to the craft store so I can get cracking on some of my non-quilt related projects. Hopefully this inspiration will keep up and more posts will coming up soon.

Leave a Reply

