I scream, you scream, we all scream for ICE CREAM!!!

EHN_3066

I did it! I finally did it! I made a perfect, delicious, creamy batch of vanilla ice cream. After multiple disappointing failed attempts I finally found a great recipe and nailed down a few techniques and I’m so excited about it I decided to awaken this abandoned portal to the world wide web and share with EVERYONE!

Now it all started when I got the latest issue of Bon Appetit in the mail, wait no, it started around Christmas 2011 when I got my ice cream maker, wait no, it started in my early childhood when I discovered ice cream, wait no, it started when I was an infant when my mom thought it would be fun to give me a sample of her ice cream. I’m pretty sure I didn’t care for it much then but my unwavering, unadulterated love affair with ice cream has been in existence since I can remember. I mean, I really love ice cream.

And I’ve finally been able to recreate it in my own kitchen! How exciting!!!*!! I started with the simple vanilla recipe  and after some trial and error I’ve gathered a few tips I’d like to share:

-The bucket must be frozen solid. I had mine in the freezer overnight and it melted before the ice cream formed. This may have been due to the fact that we were cooking on the stove, inches away from the mixer, and baking in the oven a few feet from the mixer on an incredibly hot day in July without A/C but nevertheless, at least two solid days in the freezer.

-They’re expensive but if you’re making vanilla ice cream, I recommend using the vanilla bean over the extract. I’ve tried both and I find the flavor much better with the bean. Plus the little specks of vanilla bean are fun.

-Follow the recipe closely; when it says to stir continuously, stir continuously; when it says to slowly incorporate the egg yolks, SLOWLY incorporate the egg yolks (they can cook if you don’t)

-Make sure the custard is cooled down completely before churning. I usually stick it back in the fridge overnight.

-Place ice cream in the freezer for at least a few hours before serving (this helps it solidify a little more and have more of an ice cream rather than soupy texture).

-I’ve also had issues with ice cream crystallizing, this may be due to the recipe or not churning the ice cream enough. Make sure the ice cream has thickened and almost solid while in the mixer.

EHN_3071

So there you have it, it may require some planning and a couple days but now you’ve got a good solid ice cream base to run wild with. Next post will be about bacon and avocado ice cream or maybe honey lavender ice cream….

The garnish is some chocolate chips stuffed into raspberries. Stole the idea from Pinterest and it’s just as easy and delicious as it looks.

*”!” x infinity

Leave a Reply

