Artsy Fartsy

I’m not sure what it is, but I’ve perked up lately and been really inspired to create things. This time it’s watercolors! Or just art in general. It’s hard to explain this wall I’ve had up. It doesn’t make much sense. I enjoyed art when I was a kid but I would get really frustrated if I couldn’t draw something perfect and then intimidated by the world of amazing artists. I figured I could always return to it as a hobby but post college, every time I’ve tried to sketch or paint something I’ve been crippled by the fact that it might suck and I’d waste my art supplies and time on a crappy painting. This really makes no sense since you need to practice to get any better… so lately I’ve had this epiphany. What sparked it was a photograph of a woman out to lunch with some friends sketching a pizza she ordered and drinking wine. I think it made me realize how cool this is and how it’s actually an enjoyable activity. I want to be that woman! So that night, I went to Michaels and bought some new paintbrushes and a sketchbook and dusted off my old paints and fancy water color papers. Now that I’m fully armed with supplies and determination I’m breaking down this proverbial wall I’ve build up and I’m making art!! I’m not saying it’s any good but at least I’m doing it.

That said, I’m a little scared to post some of the things I’ve made just yet but I did make myself a dandy little portable art kit that Steve said would be really cool to share on my blog… so, here it is!

The only thing new that I had to purchase were the little plastic containers to hold the paint and they were only $5. I also spent a lot of time debating on the type of sketchbook because I knew I wanted to use watercolors but I didn’t want a spiral notebook and I wanted the pages to open completely and the only watercolor sketchbooks moleskin makes are landscape oriented which I really didn’t want. So I took a risk and bought the regular sketchbook (with my 50% off coupon) and it paid off. The paper wrinkles slightly but not nearly as bad as I thought it would.

So here’s what’s in my kit:

  • The brushes are from a cheap brush set I bought several years ago, I sharpened the one with the pointy tip so it would fit in the box and I could use the tip to make marks in the paint
  • Betsy Johnson binder clips (impulse buy)
  • Old Honey/Jam jar for water
  • Colored Sharpie pens- probably won’t use these- I just threw them in because I liked the colors
  • Fancy 4B drawing pencil I stole from my Mom a loooong time ago (shhh…)
  • Tech Liner Drawing Pens
  • Pencil Sharpener
  • Eraser
  • Small travel spray bottle- I think this was part of a travel kit I never used
  • Charcoal Pencils Set– Fits Perfectly in the lid
  • Paper Towel
  • Various Paints in plastic containers
  • Tin I found in my grandparent’s house before they moved out
  • Moleskin sketchbook

The “kit” is rather large. I’ve seen lots of watercolor sets in Altoid boxes and old watercolor tins. I think the idea is to scavenge around your house and pull together whatever you need to make a painting. If I actually use it, I can definitely work on some improvements or maybe invest in a real travel watercolor kit. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up and go sketching and painting outside somewhere. Let me know if you want to join me so I don’t look like the only weirdo drinking wine, drawing stick figures and spattering paint everywhere!

One thought on “Artsy Fartsy

  1. Pingback: Stamps and Inspiration | hy.poth.e.sis

Leave a Reply

