Erin’s Garden

Hi There!

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten this excited about a project but since I’ve been literally dreaming about this for months and I’ve started reading, studying, planning, and preparing journals I thought it might be time to share the great news. In just a few short weeks if all goes to plan, I will finally have my very own garden!

Garden Journal

And this isn’t just a 6′ x 2′ mini garden bed like the one we had on Montgomery Street this is a real sunny, fenced off, large chunk of land that I can fill with whatever I want! Gardening is an almost foreign concept to me. I’ve grown a few tomatoes, peppers, herbs and daisies but I’ve never had to deal with enriching soil, rotating garden beds, companion planting, watering sources, cover crops, pesky insects, etc. It can be overwhelming but last weekend I bought my first seeds and sowed them on Monday and they germinated yesterday. Every single time I pop a seed into some dirt and sprinkle them with a bit of water I think ‘this is ridiculous, there’s no way this will work’ and more often than not they pop right up!  It’s just so simple and fascinating to watch.

You can barely see but these are the first seeds beginning to pop up yesterday.

Seeds just starting to pop up on March 13

Seeds just starting to pop up on March 13

And this is how they look less than 24 hours later.

EHN_5026

Bloom bloom!

It is so cool. Simple as that. So cool that I spent the rest of my morning ordering a ton of seeds from the seed catalogs I’ve been pouring over the past few weeks.

GardenPlanning

So while I’m stuck indoors dealing with temperamental March weather, I’ve been reading books, browsing blogs, flipping through seed catalogs, sketching up some rough garden layouts, checking in on my seeds every couple hours, more or less obsessing over this future garden. I’m pretty certain I’ll take a look back in August and think how insane I am so here is a little note to myself to remind me of my current state of mind:

Future Erin-

When it’s hot, humid and sticky, when your back aches and fingernails are caked in mud and you just want to go inside and watch a movie, remember how it feels to live through those last never-ending bits of miserable weather and to ache for Spring. Think about how many years you’ve lived in apartments where you struggled with space and sun exposure and how many times you unsuccessfully managed to get lot on a community garden. Most importantly think about all the delicious food you can grow and the inventive meals you can cook up. Think of the beautiful flowers that will surround your yard and your home and the delicious herbs that will be just outside the kitchen. Think of how nice it is to hear to birds chirping and the crickets at night and feel the cool breeze rustle through the trees. Think of how lucky you are to have this opportunity. Embrace the moment and go get dirty. I know gardening will be hard work but it will be worth it.

Love,

Present Erin

Oh, and Happy Pi Day, Nerds!

Leave a Reply

