Happy Holidays

EHN_5758It’s hard to believe the holidays are here, the end of 2015 is fast approaching and we are coming up on our 9 month anniversary of being home-owners. We’ve learned a lot this year like how somehow wasp spray is ineffective towards yellow jackets and by the way, yellow jacket stings REALLY hurt. We’ve learned that removing trees is very expensive and deciding to chop up a tree ourselves with a 19″ chainsaw is incredibly labor intensive and time consuming. In fact, everything we do to the house is labor intensive and time consuming. Our first major project was to remove the wallpaper and paint the dining room which I believe we started in June. It is now 6 months later and we still haven’t managed to put a coat of paint on, but I did learn that wall paper removal is the worst thing in the world and it will ruin a manicure.

I’ve learned a lot about gardening too. I tried to save myself some trouble by sectioning off a large part of the garden and planting a cover crop. But what I failed to realize is that you need to till the cover crop into the soil once it flowers in order for it to provide nutrients to the soil. I just let it flower, go to seed, die and then become over grown with weeds. Oops. I also learned that gardening really doesn’t take a lot of work if you’re consistent.It looked its best when I would check on it everyday after work and spend about 15 minutes weeding and harvesting. Once we went on vacation and the weeds got out of control, I was never really able to reclaim the garden from the weeds.

I’ve always been very goal-driven and like using the new year as a chance to reflect on the past year and choose a new goal to focus on. In the past I’ve focused on reading more or running more or focusing on my diet and health or getting more sleep or taking more pictures when in fact I want to do all of those things! When I start to think about the goals I want to accomplish in the new year I get as overwhelmed as I do when I think about all the work that needs to be done to the house. I want to do all those things plus add one more task on top of that list. It gets overwhelming. But I’ve decided to tackle this just as I would tackle the house. One step, one day, one project at a time.

I’ve been trying to think of what makes me happy and yes, the list is long but one thing I’ve been neglecting the fast few years is creating things. Whether it’s painting, crocheting, gardening, baking, etc. Anything involving creativity¬†often gets pushed aside because I’m too tired or too busy. There always seems to be an excuse. My goal is to make time in the new year for some of these projects. I have 3 quilts started in my closet that haven’t seen daylight in a year, a folder of saved crochet patterns on my computer that I’ve had for years now, a bag of embroidery supplies I got from my mom last year that I never even opened, a half-completed afghan that’s been sitting under the coffee table for over a hear, a secret pinterest board full of watercolor inspiration… you get the idea. These projects have laid dormant for too long. And yes, there will always be something that’s probably more important that needs to be done but I really hope to set aside some time to work on these projects because creating things really does make me happy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

